The OCPRSA PROTOS Awards honors Orange County’s top public relations professionals, programs, and campaigns. For more than 40 years, the chapter has celebrated exceptional strategic campaigns, tactical programs and professional excellence.

Entries are open to public relations professionals working in Orange County and highlight the highest standards of communications practices.

Timeframes and Deadlines

Applications opened in May 2021. Early Bird Deadline: June 10. Regular Deadline: June 17. Extended Deadline: June 24. An awards after-party is scheduled for October 7, 2021.

For a full list of PROTOS Award categories, entry fees and requirements, click HERE.

For details on the 2021 PROTOS Awards After-Party and a sponsorship opportunity, click HERE and register HERE.

To stay informed on all things PROTOS by signing up to receive the InBox, click HERE.

Previous Top PROTOS Honors

2021 PROTOS “Harder. Better. Faster. Stronger.”

2020 PROTOS “The New Frontier”
Best in Show: Orange County Health Care Agency for “Could it be COVID?”
Distinguished Service Award – Organization: Providence St. Joseph Health
Distinguished Service Award – Individual: David Cordero, APR
Rick Miltenberger Mentorship Award: Teri Sawyer

2019 PROTOS “Rev Up”
Best in Show: Powerhouse Communications for Tsurutokame “Mission” Campaign
Distinguished Service Award – Organization: Taylor Digital
Distinguished Service Award – Individual: Matt Prince
Rick Miltenberger Mentorship Award: Les J. Goldberg, APR

2018 PROTOS “#Inspired”
Best in Show: Ray Public Relations and ABBYY
Distinguished Service Award – Organization: Taco Bell Corp.
Distinguished Service Award – Individual: Tim Mead2017 PROTOS “Unstoppable”
Distinguished Service Award – Organization: Anaheim Ducks
Distinguished Service Award – Individual: Danny Craig, APR

2016 PROTOS “Discover OC’s Best in PR”
Distinguished Service Award – Organization: University of California, Irvine
Distinguished Service Award – Individual: Carolyn Kim, APR

2015 PROTOS “Anchored in Excellence”
Distinguished Service Award – Individual: Rebecca Hall, APR

2014 PROTOS “Orange is the New Gold”
Distinguished Service Award – Individual: Scott Smith

2013 PROTOS “Fly Away to PROTOS”
Distinguished Service Award – Individual: Katie Coates, APR

2013 PROTOS “A Fair to Remember”
Distinguished Service Award – Individual: Ted Nguyen

Records for some awards are missing. Please excuse any accidental errors. To request your campaign, name or organization be included as a top PROTOS award recipient, please send an email to, along with proof of your award for consideration.